Where to buy professional cocktail dress?

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. 40% off dresses, jumpsuits and sandals at Nordstrom. Sale ends Thursday at 9am EST. Click or tap to shop the sale!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. I am currently a law student and am starting my professional wardrobe... I am already preparing for the recruitment and interviews taking place next year. I only have sexy dresses for nights out, not too appropriate for professional cocktails.

I am a size 0 and I am a D cup, so it's not always easy finding brands that fit my body type, I often stick to the same brands.

I don't mind spending a little more on classic styles that will last me for a while, but ideally I would like to spend less than $500 or $1000... I am thinking about pencil dresses but am also open to other suggestions.

What are your favorite brands?

2. Theory has good dresses suitable for work!

xShoppingAddict likes this.
  3. With sales going on right now you can easily pick up a cocktail dress for work in your price range - check out farfetch.com. I like Alexander McQueen, Jason Wu, Victoria Beckham, Roland Mouret and believe it or not, Dolce and Gabbana. I think for work functions, cocktail dresses should never be short (to or just past the knees), specially if they're fitted. It will never look dowdy if the dress fits properly.

4. Check out the site Net-a-Porter. There will be a heading for clothing, dresses,cocktail dresses. They have gorgeous, classic designers and styles. DVF makes some lovely, sophisticated cocktail dresses. Theia and Lela Rose are a few others.

5. Thank you so much for the great suggestions! :smile: I will start checking out the websites.