When re-sale values disappoint

ClaireL

Dec 3, 2008
Ah, Mulberry ladies, I've made some expensive mistakes.
I'm only learning this now. I mean, after a while it's pretty easy to tell a handbag is a mistake - you don't use it, something about it annoys you. But learning it's an expensive mistake comes much later when you realise you can really not recover most of what you paid for it like you thought you could.

I'm feeling pretty bad about this because:
1. I feel I may have been a sucker and may have paid too much for a secondhand bag when I compare what I paid to what my buyer paid.

2. Ouch. Big hole in the pocket, even after using my cost-per-wear rationale.

3. It makes me feel I have bad judgement and I'm not so good at picking things I'll love forever, in fact, sometimes I sure do suck at that.

Do you get sore too if a bag you thought would get a good price gets a lousy one?

Hi Claire sorry to hear you feel disappointed. In my case I've won so
e and I've lost some. I've definitely made some errors of judgment and lost money but I try not to think about it other than make much more reasoned choices now.

Hi ClaireL - sorry to hear you were disappointed by the resale value of a bag.
I think a lot of it can be down to timing and luck. You may try to sell when a couple of people really want that particular bag and the price you get is good or sometimes it may the exact opposite.
Was it a "classic" bag or more of a personal choice?

Noted, Lescoy, I'll be good.
Lola - not a 'classic', no. One thing I'm fairly sure I had working against me is that these bags actually seem to go pretty cheaply on Ebay and I had bought mine for a fair bit more from a secondhand dealer - lovehandbags.
Timing and luck ... hopefully I'll have better timing and more luck the next time. :smile: