When do you know it's time for the bridge

Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Hi Everyone,

I already have tears as I try to write this--- I have a 13 year old pug, Mr. Magoo (my first dog and first love!) and I'm not sure if it is his time or not..

He has arthritis, he is blind, and he can no longer hold his BM/ pee at times. He is eating just fine and still bounces up to see me when I come home from time to time...

I just don't know if he is in pain and my mom and I are worried about the upcoming winter and it is harder for him when its cold.. This is my first time having to make this type of decision..

57_521749477910_2407_n.jpg
  2. Oh mm, I am so sorry. I know how hard it it is to lose a pet and a beloved member of the family :hugs:

Have you had a talk with Mr. Magoo's vet? They would be able to tell you if he is experiencing pain and what the best route would be.

3. What does your vet says? And how does he seem in your eyes? Does he looks like he has pain? Just try to spend a lot of time with him and do lots of fun stuff together, plus spoil him a lot with nice treats and food. My cat was sick for a few years, but he could still play outside, eat his food etc. until it REALLY got bad. When we know he got sick we just spend a lot of time with him, gave him as much of love as we could and gave him all the nice food he wanted. He had a happy live. I'll think you'll find out yourself when the time is right. I don't think someone else can make that decision for you.

4. I'd ask your vet about his pain. They've seen so many dogs -and might be able to advise you about how things would go. They do change as they get older but I'd say that when he really doesn't seem like himself to you you might consider it. For us it was when our cat didn't seem to enjoy food anymore.