What's the biggest, but still safe amount of cash to carry with you when traveling?

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. I'm new to this subforum and tried searching for titles of threads that address this issue, but couldn't find it, so I'm starting one.

Anyway, I'm going to Spain, France, and Portugal (see my siggy:biggrin:) in November. I'm going to visit Madrid and Barcelona, but mostly small towns. I plan to buy some "native" souvenirs from local vendors for my friends and family, so I'll need to carry cash (Euros, I believe). Anyway, I'm wondering what the tpf travelers think is the max safe amount to carry on your person when you're in a foreign country and will be doing a lot of walking. For simplicity's sake, please give amounts in US dollars.

TIA!

2. This is a question I've never thought about. Safe? I guess it all depends on where you go and how you store you money. I usually card when its possible and have about 100-200 dollars in cash. There are ATM machines in all the bigger cities.

3. #3 Sep 13, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2010
    ^^That's true.

For more expensive purchases, I could use a cc, although it's a pain sometimes. I love that my bank is cautious, but I hate having to call them to clear transactions, especially when I'm out of the country.

However, for small vendors in small towns, I'd prefer to have the cash than use an ATM because it might be hard to find ATMs that take US bank cards. It was hard for me to find one even in a major European city that I visited last year. I walked around and around for hours and found several ATMs there, but I couldn't find an ATM that took US bank cards.