What Was Your 1st Job?

Jun 25, 2007
This is my first time posting in the GD section!!
Well, Im 20 and I've never had a job before, but Im thinking about finding one this summer to support my selfish splurges. I am curious as to how you made your debut as a woking class citizen. Did it suck, as I imagine all first jobs do?

Party City during Halloween, and yes, it did suck. I watched parents grab costumes out of the wrappers, hold them up against their kid, and if it didn't suit, they just threw them on the ground and moved on to the next one. The Halloween aisle had to be cleaned every 10 minutes.

My first job was when I was 14, but I only worked November-December for Holiday help. I worked in a small store in my area. I hated it because there were tons of people that would come in and thought they were better than everyone else and the boss would watch EVERYTHING I did. I only made $7.50 per hr. but it gave me some money to buy stuff I wanted.

My first job was the summer I turned 16, right before I started 12th grade. I was a checkout girl at a local grocery store. My cousin worked in the office and the manager went to my church, so I just eased on it. I lasted a good two months, as my parents didn't want me to work while school was in (not like my extra curricular activities would have allowed it). I made next to nothing, but back then I didn't know any better. I just liked having some extra gas money and pocket change.