What to do? long post

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Hi everyone,
    I only post occasionally but read regularly and I need some advice. DH and I have an amazing son who is almost 2. We both work full time, he is self employed and I am an elementary school teacher. I went back to work part time when DS was 7 months old and then full time when he was 15 months old. I have a great child care arrangement which I am thrilled with so all is well.
    Except, DH and I are thinking of expanding our family, hopefully with me being pregnant sometime in the fall. I have a busy summer planned, continuing my coursework, getting Nationally Board Certified next year and getting a gifted teaching endorsement(sorry for the teacher lingo). My parents were planning on moving out to AZ (where we live) sometime this summer and I was thrilled, not only for them to see our family regularly, but also to support me when I am pregnant and have a newborn. (I will probably need to see my doc regularly throughout pregnancy and it would help out tremendously to have help with DS as I don't like for him to stay at daycare past 4pm (mommy guilt)).
    My mom was recently diagnosed with a serious illness and plans have changed for them. Although she is treatable (thank goodness), it will be a tough time. I feel terribly guilty for being so far and my folks are adamant that I should stay where I am and not fly in to help. My MIL keeps reminding me that my DH and child need to be my top priority but I feel so guilty about not being with my mom (I am an only child).
    I guess I am needing advice on a few things:
    Is MIL correct about my priorities?