What does "nappa umbria" mean?

Minda

O.G.
Sep 24, 2007
Sorry for this dumb question but I would be grateful if anyone could tell me what "nappa umbria" means. :confused1: I saw it used in relation to a sloane (which I love). Newbie here - only discovered the beauty of BV recently. Now I am living vicariously through all of you.:smile: I even feel like I own a Veneta already just by visting TPF every day!

PS. Does anyone know whether "Limo" and "Old Petra" will be making a comeback this S/S? I want a Sloane in it :heart:.

Not a dumb question at all, Minda ~ it had a lot of us confused for a while. :yes: Here's a thread on it ~ nappa is lambskin and nappa umbria is a waxed, treated lambskin.

Nappa-umbria-bv-leather-and-pics

It was once rumored Limo may become a classic, returning color so it's possible the Sloane will appear again in that shade. I believe Old Petra may have been limited to last spring... too bad because it's lovely!

A million thanks blugenie! :smile: Your Limo Nappa Umbria Sloane is really lovely. DROOL! I want one too.

A follow up question : does BV use nappa (ie. lambskin) for all Venetas and Sloanes (whether umbria or not)? Uneducated me was under the impression that BV leather was calf leather! :shocked: Gee - this may shock the entire BV loving community!

^LOL! Not a horror - I see sellers on eBay refer to it as calf too ~ even authentic ones... (except the fakes are probably horse! poor horsey!) Even sites like NM just say "leather".