What designers are keeping up their quality?

ryrysmom

Feb 27, 2008
I have been reading in quite a few of the designer handbag sub-forums that people are noticing that the quality of bags are decreasing while prices are increasing. Though I can accept the increasing prices, the decrease in quality, workmanship, and cs disappoints me. Are there any premier designers that you believe have kept up their workmanship and cs? On the other hand, which are headed downhill? Please chime in. Thanks!

I'm like/buy many different designers; however, I've been disappointed with both Coach and Balenciaga in recent months. I still love Bottega Veneta. I'm new to Celine, so I can't comment re: their quality.

Great question!

In the last year I have bought/received

Gucci amazing leather/skins and impressive hardware (better than most brands' jewellery). I am very, very happy.

BV (exotic) compared to older leather (I dont have older exotic) better than ever.

Sammy (Ethiopia) I can't compare because it's a relatively new brand (I believe). Handmade, softest leather and quirky, beautifully hand-finished.

Hermes (large wallet) excellently made and designed and also practical although not really up to my vintage (1950s) Mademoiselle with fine kid-leather interior and hardware as gorgeous as jewellery.

I have checked out Paul Smith for BF - their products go up and down in quality all the time (no surprise as they change their manufacturers constantly) last year up this year back down again. Chanel I'm too used to vintage, can't pull the trigger anymore, however I haven't given up hope. Checked out Celine more impressed last year.

I think it depends on the products you buy from the brands. With coach there leather bags in my opinion are awesome. Lvs Monogram canvas definitely went down in quality they are much thinner and cracks easier.