What can you do with a Biology degree?

Munchkyn

I LOVE Penguins
O.G.
Oct 28, 2005
Ok, I am graduating in May with a Biology degree and I was wondering if any of you had any ideas for jobs?

I plan on applying to pharmacy school but I have not been accepted yet so I was trying to think of alternatives I could do in the mean time.

Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated

You could get your teaching certificate and teach in high school. You could also work as a pharmacy tech. One of my friends worked his way through college and pharmacy school at Kroger.

La Vanguardia said:
You can work for a multi-national pharmaceutical company. You can also try to continue with a PhD and be an active researcher.

I would love to get into a pharmaceutical company but a lot of companies require 1+ year sales experience I don't have. I am currently a pharmacy tech, does that count?

I am not really interested in doing research though...

LOL, I have a biology and Russian degree, that qualifies me for a whole lot of nothing! If the pharmacology thing doesn't work out, Biology's a tough field for a B.S. degree and no experience, you might want to consider going for a M.S. or PhD if you love the field. Try talking to a few of your professors to see if they can steer you in the right direction. It'll be rough to find something that isn't research based considering that's basically what Biology is-lots and lots of research.

You can also try looking at the CDC (Center for Disease Control) in Atlanta. I had a friend work there right out of undergrad.

Here are a few links to help you out:
http://www.aibs.org/careers/

http://www.millikin.edu/biology/what_to_do.html

http://condor.depaul.edu/~biology/ugrad/50things.html

Good luck! Hope you get into a pharm program!

jillybean307 said: