Watch out--don't make a typo!

  1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Hey ladies!

    I was thinking of using my Bloomie's giftcard to buy an LV, so I went online to check out my options. Instead of typing in "" (too lazy to add that ".com"), I googled "Louis Vuitton". The first hit, was (naturally), the official LV online boutique...but a couple of hits down, was another site called "" (mods--please edit this out if this is against the rules)

    I thought it was one of those imitation spam sites, but oddly, the little description underneath the link said the EXACT SAME THING as the official LV boutique. curiousity was piqued--I clicked the "spam site" (of course, I checked to make sure my antivirus was on, just in case)


    EXACTLY THE SAME as the online LV boutique--graphics, everything! You can even buy things! Freaked me out...I just exited as fast as I could.

    Moral of the story: I think this is one of those imitation sites that attracts people who make typos when typing URLs. Just watch out how you type "Louis Vuitton" and DEFINITELY DO NOT forget that "o". (On the flip side, am I being OCD about this? Is this maybe a legit LV site? Please correct me if I'm wrong!)
  2. I'm pretty sure Louis Vuitton owns - here's the Whois info

    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]WHOIS information for:

    CSC Corporate Domains(sm) - Expert Global Domain Name
    Management for Corporations, Law Firms and IP Professionals

    Contact us at or 888-250-6159 to learn more
    about our worldwide domain name, DNS and digital certificate capabilities.

    NOTICE: You are not authorized to access or query our WHOIS database through
    the use of high-volume, automated, electronic processes or for the purpose
    or purposes of using the data in any manner that violates these terms of use.
    The Data in CSC Corporate Domains' WHOIS database is provided by CSC
    Corporate Domains for information purposes only, and to assist persons in
    obtaining information about or related to a domain name registration record.
    CSC Corporate Domains does not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a WHOIS
    query, you agree to abide by the following terms of use: you agree that you
    may use this Data only for lawful purposes and that under no circumstances
    will you use this Data to: (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the
    transmission of mass unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via
    direct mail, e-mail, telephone, or facsimile; or (2) enable high volume,
    automated, electronic processes that apply to CSC Corporate Domains (or its
    computer systems). CSC Corporate Domains reserves the right to terminate your
    access to the WHOIS database in its sole discretion for any violations by you
    of these terms of use. CSC Corporate Domains reserves the right to modify
    these terms at any time.

    Louis Vuitton Malletier
    Louis Vuitton Malletier
    2 rue du Pont Neuf
    Paris 75001
    033-155-803124 Fax: 033-155-803274

    Domain Name: LUISVUITTON.COM
    Registrar of Record: Corporate Domains, Inc.

    Administrative Contact:
    Louis Vuitton Malletier
    Louis Vuitton Malletier
    2 rue du Pont Neuf
    Paris 75001
    033-155-803124 Fax: 033-155-803274
    Technical Contact:
    Net Searchers International Ltd
    gTLD Technical
    Elysium Gate, 126-128 New Kings Road
    London SW6 4LZ
    044-2075-654090 Fax: 044-2075-654099

    Domain servers in listed order:


    Created on..............: 11-Nov-99
    Expires on..............: 11-Nov-09
    Record last updated on..: 23-Dec-08
  3. I just tried to do this but all I got was the official LV website. I typed it into google but nothing (not that I want to find fake websites but you made me curious).
  4. Nothing to worry about. It is the legit LV side;)
  5. Most large companies do buy incorrect URLs so that if someone miss types, they are still directed to the correct website...
  6. ... and to avoid anyone from creating websites that would mislead the consumer or misuse their corporate name
  7. Ahhh...relief! Let's see if I can recreate my results--I'll try to take a screenshot!
  8. Okay, here it is...
    Note how even after accessing the site, it still claims to be "Luis"--that's what really tripped me up. Actually, now that the scare is over, this is actually pretty funny:graucho:

    Attached Files:

    • lvg.jpg
      File size:
      186.4 KB
    • hj.jpg
      File size:
      124.6 KB
    • nj.jpg
      File size:
      24 KB
  9. i just went to and even though the URL still displays luisvuitton, every time you click on something it says at the bottom "transferring data from". it is very common for large companies to buy misspelled URLs for the reasons already mentioned. no worries there!
  10. ^^^ all true. my fiances company did it. they bought over 40 misspelled urls, it was cheap and now the traffic goes right to their site instead of a bogus one.
  11. A bit off topic, but I worked for Victoria's Secret all throughout college, and this was about the same time they really started marketing their website for commerce, and the fashion shows and all. I remember we had a staff meeting where it was explained that the company purchased all the commonly misspelled variations of the domain, including victoriasecret,victoriasecrets, victoriassecrets, etc., and they would all re-route back to the main website. Given LV's reputation and publicity, it sounds like they would do the same thing. :smile: I'm sure a lot of huge companies with high web traffic take this route. I can only imagine the horror if or (or any of the other misspelled verisons) linked to a spoof site... or a porno site! (I think the latter was V.S.'s fear.)
  12. ^^bwahahaha! VS=porno!!! HA HA HA! It totally does sound like one, doesn't it?