Visit to Louis Vuitton on the Champs Elysees!

ChristineNYC

Apr 12, 2006
Hi ladies-

I just found this site (thank goodness) when I was doing a search for the now infamous "Bergacci.com" .

.. but ... the newbie here has quite a tale to tell!

I am in Paris on business right now (yes, I know- poor me... LOL!), and just had a friend come to visit me from New York City for the last few days. She'd never been to Paris, and so I anticipated being a tour guide. I asked her where she'd like to go, so that I could come up with a game plan. Tour Eiffel, Montmartre, the Louvre, etc.

She said without batting an eye - "I WANT TO GO TO THE LOUIS VUITTON BOUTIQUE ON THE CHAMPS ELYSEES!"

Whoa.. I hadn't ever dared venture in there because I know I would have no self control and would be divorced in 10 mins... but how can you say no to a friend. :smile:

So- off we went. We arrived at the store. Took a few deep breaths before going in to Mecca, and entered. Of course, there were throngs of people in the store, and with my decent but not great French, I figured we would be largely ignored.

A lovely sales person named Virginie came over to us, almost immediately. At first I told her why we were here in French, that my friend had never been to Paris, etc. She asked where we were from, and I told her. She said "would you rather I spoke English?" We laughed and for my friend's sake (she had zero French) I told her that would be very nice.

She had perfect English, and began to bring us bags to see. Now- as I said it was crowded, but she was so lovely- and even cleared the obvious "window shoppers" out of the way of the mirrors so my friend could look at herself with the various GORGEOUS bags. I was nearly drooling on myself the whole time! hahah..

She said to me, even if I wasn't going to buy one today along with my friend, that I should have a look too, because it's fun. Then she told an associate of hers to bring us....

CHAMPAGNE.