"very black" leather?

meimeow

Jul 13, 2007
hello everyone! I'm a bbag newbie here and am very interested in purchasing a black city. From my understanding black is produced every season so it's not rare or anything, but are some black leathers darker than others (if this makes any sense)? I was at Nordstroms the other week and asked to see a black city and I was a bit disappointed with the one the SA took out to show me. I don't know-maybe it was the lighting? The black didn't seem very saturated (not a very deep black). The leather was shiny and looked like more of a charcoal color in the store--is this normal? Does the bag need some breaking into? I don't know. I really want a black city but should I hold off until Nordstroms receives the next seasons black cities???

the black bags I see on here are soo dark and luscious. has the leather on black cities change through seasons? Have they gotten lighter in color??

Any advice/comments are much appreciated. Thank you!

If you're in the market - I would call BNY and tell them exactly what you're looking for. They always have a good selection of black bags: and should be able to find one you like. GL

I just read in a thread that some black bags have issues with turning green as they fade a bit....are there any seasons/years that are notorious for turning green?

Any seasons with particularly saturated, jet blacks?

IMO the only sure fire way to guarantee yourself a truly black bag is to find an 04 or an 05 because they were truly black. IMO all the 06's and newer that I have seen always turn a grayish green color. I am sure there are tpfers out there though that have a newer bag that has NOT faded. I just have never seen it personally :nogood:

I second that every bag is different, you can't go strictly by season. My blackest bag is a chevre f/w 07 day. It's absolutely gorgeous and the kind of black you know will never fade.