Uber, Lyft, etc.

Echoes

O.G.
Aug 8, 2008
OK, so what's the deal here?

Numerous stories documenting issues with both. Court orders blocking their services which in many cases have been defied. They've apparently attacked each other in some places hijacking each other's rides. More than one case of a driver attacking passengers. In at least one city, traditional cab services have seen substantial business losses.

Has anyone used them? Is there any advantage? Fares lower?

Word in the headlines is that Uber is suspending operations in Nevada.

I'm not in an area that they would be of use, so I have no first hand knowledge. From what I've read over the last few weeks though is that they have some rather serious ethics issues with both management and drivers.

I've only tried uber once and I've stopped since. I like that there's an app for it and I can see what drivers are around but when I request for one and one "responded" the amount of time it took him to get to me kept getting delayed--at least I got msgs regarding that

than, the driver input my destination on gps, whatever

didn't get me there any faster than a taxi would, actually..

and bill total was 3x because of prime time

sooooo

I keep taking taxis now because tbh, locations I'm at it's very easy to hail one on the street; I never call for one and, they get me there faster! of course I tend to tip generously when they do and tell them so

funny thing is once I was trying to get to the dentist during my lunch hour and I found a cab waiting on the curb w/o passenger; I thought sweet. well, turns out it was a cab but he also used uber and was waiting for someone who request it..who turns out to be a client I know so she let me in on her ride back to her office which is on the way to the dentist and he charged her via uber and I paid via square

I don't think it makes any difference for him but I thought that was interesting way to pick up fares if there's no bites on the streets