Topics That Are Off Limits !

Jan 23, 2006
Do you have any opinions/topics that you feel strongly about but are reluctant to express in certain environments ( Office, School,Social events etc...) of your peers?

For instance: Politics, Race, Sex, Religion, Money, Marriage etc.....

For me, It's my personal life, politics, and finances that are off limits at work.

Since I am a lawyer, politics is a hot topic at my work. But Sex is completely off limits. However, amongst certain friends, I definitely avoid politics.

Prada's Meadow said:
Do you have any opinions/topics that you feel strongly about but are reluctant to express in certain environments ( Office, School,Social events etc...) of your peers?

For instance: Politics, Race, Sex, Religion, Money, Marriage etc.....

For me my personal life, politics, and finances are off limits at work.

I think all the above. Depends on the question/conversation but generally I think its good to keep those topics to yourself.

My work is super casual so there's nothing off limits, per se. I wouldn't talk about my salary or how much I spend on handbags, though! And I wouldn't really go into private things about my personal life, but some co-workers are actual friends with whom I spend time outside of work.

I'm more guarded talking to acquaintances and strangers than my co-workers. I don't discuss politics or religion with someone I don't know well.

We try not to talk about politic anymore in the family after last election except to all the liberal part of the family. The other side of family who aren't that liberal can't really take the opionions differ from them..So no politic talk with family from the red states.

I'm a writer and stay at home mom, so the only thing that's not PC to talk about with other mom's are the "best parenting strategies".
Someone always does, and there are always arguments.