The Best Way to Ship and Post Overseas.

LondonBrat

O.G.
Dec 13, 2005
Ok, I saw this being discussed on a thread and I thought I should help clarify some thing. I didn't know where to put it so I would be grateful if Moderator could moe it where they deem appropriate.

I used to live in the US and now I live in the UK. I am very much used to shiping items around the world, as my family live scattered around the globe (Brussles, Monaco, Saudi Arabia, US and Dubai).

I'm not being a know it all, I work in a design studio that produces items abroad and exports them to countries. I am a concept designer and accountant (yes two jobs one salery grr) there, but I know how it works.

These are the most realible companies that are preffered for proffesionall use. THATS why their listed. Companies like the Arcadia Group (my worko placo) chose these companies to ship their items as they have a guarantee to live up and always provide insurance, tracking and you do not have to deal with machines but people.

FROM THE USA

USPS- The most reliable and efficient way to ship from the US to
anywhere in the world is USPS. They are much cheaper than FedEx or UPS, and fully insure really good value.

eg. Fellow forum member chigirl is sending me a Luella Stevie- this is a heavy bag! Shipping cost $55 including insurance AND I can track it so I know exactly where it is. They delivery to my door and even though it takes a little longer than UPS for example (it's been 5 days incl the weekend, i'm expecting it tomorrow).

UPS- This is a reliable company with more guarantee policies than USPS. They provide an estimate delivery time (unlike USPS, who will tell you an approx delivery date). They provide tracking numbers like above aswell. They are more expensive than USPS.

FedEx- Possibly the most reliable of the lot, and the most expensive. The provide door to door service upon request. Very fast shipment, item can be recieved in 1 or 2 days.

FROM EUROPE to the USA