Tax Reimbursement for Hermes from France?

RGM

O.G.
Sep 5, 2007
Hi all,

Sorry if this question is stupid for some of you. I'm new to the H scene. I read somewhere that the reimbursement for tax is 10% only for Hermes. I know that the tax in France is 19.63%. This should be fully reimbursed. But if it is the case that 10% is the only reimbursement...my question is WHY?!? :crybaby:

Because they are allowed to determine their own fees. It sucks, doesn't it? I was surprised the first time I encountered it, too. It's not just Hermes, some other stores do it, as well.

Grands Fonds,

Thanks for the answer. THIS SUCKS BIG TIME! :tdown: I was ready to shop til I drop in Paris this Spring, but given this... <sigh>. Oh well, might as well be shocked here, rather than in FSH. Thanks again.

I'm supposing LV, Chanel, Dior, don't reimburse fully...

^ I think they all take a chunk oout, too. I think (from memory) Harrods does the same in London?

Hey, one consolation is, it's still a fair amount cheaper to het things direct from Paris than anywhere else, so you'll still be saving money!!!!

GF,

You do make a point. Made some calculations (sorry if too geeky). If I buy a Birkin 35 (if lucky:lol:), if the entire tax was deducted (19.63%), the discount if you got it in Paris (compared to current US prices) is about 28.6%. But with 10% tax removed, the discount is 22.3%. It's a reduction, but still, all in all, not bad! :okay:

Thanks again!

You'll love it. The FSH store is DIVINE! I was sipping champagne while waiting for them to wrap my purchases. I think I saved $200 on the tri-fold bearn alone. Have fun!!