Switched from Mineral to Liquid Foundation?

Mar 18, 2007
I have been using BareMinerals for almost five years now (ever since mineral makeup became popular), and the main reasons why I stuck with it for so long are because the color blends well with my skintone (before that I had a really hard time finding the right color) and because it does not make my skin seem flaky, which some other foundations did.

Now five years is a rather long time, and I am sure technology has managed to make some drastic improvements to liquid/creme foundation since I last tried it; so I am now curious if maybe I should give liquid foundation a try again (maybe there is something out there now that is better than BareMinerals?).

Have any of you ladies used mineral makeup for a while and switched back to liquid/creme foundation? If so, what did you switch to and why? I would love to hear some recommendations. Thanks!!

I've been using mineral makeup for over 10 years! Well, for my wedding day I was told by a makeup artist to NOT use MMU, as it creates a white cast in photos, so I used Cargo liquid foundation for the day. My skin looked great in person and in photos, but I absolutely could not wait to wash that off! My skin felt like it couldn't breathe or stuffy or something. Since that experience, I've stuck with mineral makeup.

i used to use bare minerals, but switched to a tinted moisturizer. i don't need a lot of coverage, and it matches my skin tone better than foundations. i'm pale and freckly so it's pretty hard to find something that looks good. right now i'm using bobbi brown's tinted moisturizer in the extra light shade, and i really like it.