summer leather cleaning question

oopsididitagain

»â”€â”€â™¥â”€â”€>
O.G.
Feb 5, 2008
Okay I know this sounds kinda gross. Now it's summer here (gets REALLY hot in Nevada) my arm gets sweaty and I'm always hugging my bag close to me and it probably gets salty sweat on the leather. Should I wipe it off each day with a slightly damp rag? Or is there a better method?

actually Im curious as well, nothing worse than a beautiful bag that smells like an armpit!
I have always had long shoulder straps in the past it wasnt a problem, but it may be with my new lunch tote.

I guess what I'm really asking is, is it okay to wipe down a leather bag with a damp (moist with water) cloth whenever I wish? Or is that bad for the leather? I do condition all mine with Apple moisturizer every 2 mos. or so.

Okay, I studied coach.com's frequently asked questions and the only leathers it says that a damp cloth can be used on are pebbled, vaschetta, and patent. So I still didn't know if a damp cloth is okay to use on "regular" leather like my ergos.
I finally got my answer from this website:
http://www.designerhandbags101.com/purses/designer-purse-care.aspx
It says to wipe off leather purses with a clean, moist cloth before applying moisturizers.
I take that to mean any and all leathers, as long as the cloth is lightly damp, why not?

It makes sense not to apply moisturizers on a bag that has dirt (seen or unseen from salty sweat/skin oils) until cleaning it first! Salt/dirt is leather's worst enemies.

So I guess I answered my own question, then! Maybe the tPFers here do not sweat like I do, they "perspire" so this question seemed revolting! hehe

your welcome! yes they all talk and we love visitors! If you lived close to us we (me and my parrots) would say come on over! I have a derbyan that says over 200 words! he is the one in my signature!