Suede vs Leather-please share your Louboutin knowledge

BudgetBabe(BB)

BB
O.G.
Apr 7, 2009
Greetings to all you wonderful TPF's !

i am brand new to the Christian Louboutin world and have just purchased my very fiirst pair of suede Bianca Bottas which I have had for 3 days and not even taken out of their box yet. I am slightly nervous.

I went to buy them in leather but they did not have them and I loved the suede ...so I got the suede ones !

Now I wonder if maybe I should have waited for the leather because suede can wear quickly-black suede can end up looking like grey suede.

I am going back for the Miss Tack Booty (in leather) when my size arrives this week so I could trade them in.

My DF says to keep the suede and get the same in leather but I don't know.

Does anyone have any advice/ insight on suede vs leather?

TIA

Well... for most of my boots which I wear in rain, snow, and all sorts of harsh weathers, I always prefer kidskin/calfskin leather.

If you know that you'll be wearing them regularly rain or shine, definitely suede is a bad idea. Suede should never be in contact with water or snow. Even the best cobbler can't bring back the fluffiness of suede after it's been through such conditions.

I have the Bianca Botta too in smooth calfskin. I personally don't wear this pair that often, so I wouldn't mind it in suede.

It really depends on for what purpose you'll be wearing them. I don't see the Bianca Botta as an everyday boot, but Ms Tack - yes! I was looking at this myself before too and it seems like a great boot.

Last edited:
I love the look of suede but I try to avoid it because they are so high maintenance. I spray all my suede shoes with Meltonian to help protect them from light rain exposure. If I bought boots intending to wear them in colder weather with possible snow (also Canadian), I would have waited for the calfskin leather.