study at us

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. i am considering to study master course at US .

i hope someone here can help me..

do i must take Gmat exam? I done my bachelor degree back at yr 2001.. so it is quite a long time ago.. I also done a graudate diploma at 02.

and also .. do I have to take the course from the same field as what I studied before? ( eg .. i done commerce degree, can I do master in IT?)

I am seriously thinking about moving to US and seems this is no easy way to obtain a visa .. my friend suggested study a master course ans then try to find a job is the most easy path..

2. The GMAT exam is for graduate business schools (MBA studies). If you are interested in studying IT, you will take the GRE exam. More information is here:

http://www.ets.org/portal/site/ets/menuitem.fab2360b1645a1de9b3a0779f1751509/?vgnextoid=b195e3b5f64f4010VgnVCM10000022f95190RCRD

For graduate (master's) degree programs in IT, you will need to have experience or demonstrated proficiency in an IT field - in other words, master's programs will not teach you IT from the beginning if you have no knowledge or experience now.

There are fields in which you could apply to build upon your commerce education - you could look into business (MBA) or other fields, like international relations, economics, etc.

Obtaining an F-1 student visa to study in the US is a detailed process, and you will need to be accepted by a US university and demonstrate you are able to pay the tuition and fees and fully support yourself during your studies. Here are some websites to check out on this:

http://www.usjournal.com/en/students/info/visa.html