Tech Someone hacked into my WoW account!

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. I have been playing World of Warcraft for about 5 years now. I've been a very casual gamer...no guilds, no raids, just little quests here and there. I got an email Monday that my account was involved in "exploitative activity" which they didn't specify....it may have included paying someone to level me up, selling my gold on feebay and whatever else :P So my 5 characters, including a level 56 night elf (forgive my dorkiness here) are gone, as far as I know, with all the cool stuff I collected in that time....and 1.5k of gold!

So...the other night I tried to log in to see if my account had been restored....and I got a message to enter an authenticator code. I googled authenticator and it's a key generator you buiy for $6.50 to generate new codes to enter after you log in...an extra layer of security on the account. So...now I can't even log in because the hacker got this authenticator thingy....but then again, I thought they shut me down.

I appealed to them to reopen my account, that I wasn't the perp, but it's up to them now. Sigh. I thought my password was a good one too. So...all of you gamers...change those passwords and make them extra hard to guess! I was one of those guys that thought...it'll never happen to me, I mean 5 years of playing and no problems....but then I got that email :sad:

2. I played WoW a couple years ago but unlike you I was a total nerd about it. I was *the* fury warrior in my guild, and my guild was the top raiding one on the server. I raided for like 3 hours atleast most nights and did heroics etc with my friends when we werent raiding. Ah, the good ol' days.