Singapore: Need help

1. I have been researching into travelling to Singapore for the 2013 GP for part of the honeymoon.

I have been looking at Expedia, Travelbag and Travel Republic for a combined holiday along with separate airline websites and separate hotel websites, however a lot of them are not up to date yet so I can only go as far as August 2013.

All research is coming up with us spending approximately £1800 including flights and hotel (3* plus) The cheapest hotel so far is Park Hotel, Clarke Quay..

I have included the ticket price in this, along with food at a rough cost of £50 per day for the both of us.

Is this around the price we should expect to pay? Will hotel/flight prices rise once September flights/dates are published due to the GP?

It is looking like this is out of our budget, we only have £2,000 per person and we still have to go on "my holiday" so ideally I was looking at spending a maximum of £1200 per person.

This is meant to be our honeymoon so I refuse to scrimp and stay in a not very nice hotel just so it is in budget, or have to worry about if I am spending too much on food or drink. I have seen Mexico holidays all inclusive for 2 weeks for the same price I am getting for Singapore but SO does not believe me when I tell him how much Singapore will cost from my research.

What would be the best option for our budget? I do not want to go over budget, we do not have 4K to spend each, any money left over from the wedding needs to either go into our house deposit or pay off some of our debts...

Any help would be appreciated :smile:

2. Ideally, one should purchase flight ticket 6-9 months prior to get the best price. Also, knowing the right travel agent that handle Asian market helps a lot too, since they can give you more discount than the online travel company could. I'm in US so can't help you with that, but try ask around in Chinatown maybe.