Should I buy this VGL Kelly 32 from Japan Reseller?

oily

Mar 18, 2008
Hi all,

I got this choice of Kelly 32VGL (Lisse) in black from a Japan Reseller. I'm very new to Hermes & definitely appreciate all of your suggests. (not quite sure if the pics'll successfully attached-sorry if not)

-what do you think abt Lisse in comparison with Box calf, Togo or clemence? I do wish I could find one in Box but it's no. In some threads, you guys've talked abt that it is a stamped leather and couldn't be polished like other natural leathers.

-Would you H lovers buy the leather that has been no more produced by H like this VGL?

-Should I buy from a reseller? (the price is surely higher than in my local H store but I see no chances to get a birkin or a kelly fr H store & have no chance to travel to other countries that often.

Thank you - especially to VanillaSkye for yr advice! :P

Attachments

• Lisse (back).jpg
    Lisse (back).jpg
    57.2 KB · Views: 113
  • Lisse (front).jpg
    Lisse (front).jpg
    63.5 KB · Views: 121
  • Lisse (side).jpg
    Lisse (side).jpg
    48.8 KB · Views: 106
It is a beautiful Kelly! But only you can say if it really speaks to you! For instance, I love my Vache Liegee Kelly. I know many do not care for that type of leather, but as soon as I saw it, I was in love! And that is what it is all about.

I would say go for it if you are comfortable with the reseller and authenticity. It is beautiful!

oily, thank YOU for your info about why H has discontinued VGL. I personally would not buy another VGL now that I know, because I don't know if H would maintain a cache of discontinued leathers (and in the right colour to boot), which would pose a problem should my bag need repairs/ replacement parts years down the road.
But above all, I'd ask myself: Do I REALLY love it or am I just settling for what's immediately available? At these prices, I don't think you should get something that doesn't make your heart sing... especially if it's your 1st.