Seller's Thread: Advice and Support for Sellers

MsMarcel

Oct 17, 2014
Hi y'all!

I was hoping that we could start a thread for sellers that isn't necessarily about problem buyers or emergency issues, instead giving advice, support, encouragement, and sharing tips about what works and what doesn't.

I've been selling on ebay in a variety of capacities (selling for others, for myself when i need some quick cash, and now i'm going to try to do it as a legit side hustle) and every time i go away and return i feel like the resale market has changed a lot, it seems like it has become much more difficult to make a decent profit...or get people to buy...anything?

I'm a personal stylist and right now i'm trying to sell a bunch of pieces from my closet that are either mine or things i purchased from/for clients that they didn't want. this used to be pretty easy but this time i'm struggling. i feel many of the pieces are really amazing but i'm not quite sure why people aren't biting or are making super low offers, i feel like i have most things listed at reasonable prices, most of the listings have detailed copy if its warranted, and i'm working on taking better photos (a few listed do not have great photos right now)... is the reason i'm having difficulty because I have less than 100 fb? it's all positive, but i wonder if i may not appear trustworthy with designer items even though that's exclusively what i've sold on this account over the years if sporadically. should i be doing auction style listings instead? if you have high-ticket items, do you have the best success with longer listing times? i typically do 7 days because i feel like it creates urgency but i'm wondering if i should switch to 30 days. i'd appreciate any advice from a seasoned seller.