Say a Good thought for my Puppy Monster...

mdlcal28

O.G.
Feb 1, 2008
Our 3 year old blue heeler was bitten by a baby Cottonmouth this evening. She had to stay overnight at the ER Clinic...........
I am just sick, sick, sick!

These are the times I HATE THE SOUTH!

Poor baby. She will be fine thanks to your quick thinking but I know how it feels to have to leave them at the the vet's. ((((HUGS))))

I had to look up what a cottonmouth was, being that I'm from the Northeast. A snake, yikes!

I'm glad you were able to get her to the ER so fast - sounds like she'll be fine, but sending lots of positive, healing thoughts your way :hugs:

Hope your baby is doing ok. :hugs: If she made it through the night she is probably out of the danger zone. Probably a good thing that it was a baby that bit her! The closer to the head they are bitten, the worse of a prognosis they have.

We had a lab that was bitten by a rattlesnake when I was a kid and the vet said the only reason she made it was because the snake had probably just eaten and didn't have as much venom to inject. She was bitten on the inside of the lip and her neck swelled up so bad it looked like she had a tire under the skin. It was the only time in her life that I can remember that she growled at me so I can only imagine how horrible she was feeling.

Thanks ladies! She is home. I misunderstood the girl at the clinic last night (not our normal vet). She meant come get her at 8 this MORNING. She called and caught me heading out the door to work, so needless to say I was late....AND left early to come home!
Her muzzle is real swollen, but I got a kiss a little while ago, so that tells me her mouth isnt real bad or her tongue. She is still pretty sedated and blah. We were using a syringe to get water in her, but she is now drinking out of her bowl. She still isnt interested in eating.....