Saving for first Chanel, advice needed

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. I'm thinking about getting my first Chanel. The bag I've always wanted is the M/L classic flap, and will definitely be adding one to my collection someday. However, I'm not sure if I should go for it as my first piece right now. I am in my last year of college with a part-time job. I'm trying to build a solid savings right now as well as buy bags on the side. At this rate, it would take a very long time to save up for the classic flap, so I'm not sure if doing so right now would be wise, though I would ideally like to get it before even more price increases.

On the other hand, I've been thinking about putting the CF on hold and purchasing a WOC first (either regular or Boy), as it is something I'd also like in my collection, and it's more budget friendly at the moment. And in the future after I start working full-time, I could save up for the CF much faster. Do you think it would be better to go directly for the classic flap, or get a WOC first? TIA!

2. As someone who saved for her Chanel , I'd say it depends on how long you can wait it out and if you can catch up to the price increase. I was initially saving for a WOC and then I ended up realizing that if I save a little bit more , I could get the flap and I could afford the wait :smile:

uhpharm01 likes this.
  3. I would wait for a couple of reasons. You have many years to buy bags. I wouldn't buy any designer piece until I had funded my savings. You will feel so much better knowing you have that money put away when you get the bag.