Sacrebleu! MJ Collection uses YKK!!!

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Now I guess I've seen it all. I've been buying MJ collection bags since 2003 and the one thing I could ALWAYS depend on - MJ would never use YKK zippers on Collection bags and SLGs - until now!!

Don't know what made me look or why, but I needed something I keep inside my small accessory pouch that I carry inside my bags. The Case is from the 2009 Resort Collection - its the Birds of Paradise Small Pouch. So I opened the case and took what I needed, and then something made me flip up the back of the zipperhead out of curiosity - I was shocked when I noticed the zipperhead was blank! I then looked at the back of the inner zipper pocket and nope - it's blank! So I looked further at the edge of the zipperhead - I thought, No way, they just missed the riri or Lampo!! But sure enough, on the edge of the zipperhead there it was -- YKK!!

Sure, it's a small leather good, but as I said earlier, I've never EVER seen YKK zippers on anything MJ collection - bags or SLGs.

Just wanted to share just in case - if there's one item made with YKK zippers, chances are, there are more!!

[​IMG]

2. oh no.... no no no no no...

i know there were a couple pieces out there that had ykk zippers, like the caroline bag and the key pouches, but nothing more recent.

that stinks about the pouch... but then again, the pretty print more than makes up for it!

3. Ok you might hang me, but what is the difference? are YKK cheaper or any less good? I have no idea… I really don't know! Can somebody explain?

4. ^ i would like to know too!
    but i think ykk is a cheaper alternative to lampo/ riri?