Rolex help!

Sep 25, 2008
I posted about vintage Rolex awhile ago and was directed to the Rolex Forums board, which I joined. Posted, asked for authentification and comment, got one comment that could not help with authentification. I'm not *****ing but that board just seems very busy and I don't want to piss anyone off by repeatedly posting - especially given that I'm a noob and they mostly seem very knowledgeable.

Is there anywhere (online) I can go and possibly even pay for an authentification? I am interested in a vintage 40's men's Rolex on ebay but it is an expensive item and I have very little knowledge of this brand. I just can't allow myself to make an impulse purchase here without having the item vetted thoroughly.

Here is a link to the specific watch for anyone who wants to check it out: http://cgi.ebay.com/Vintage-Rose-Go...311871043?pt=Wristwatches&hash=item53e442d643

Sorry I can't be of much help to you, I just wanted to say that I've had a very similar experience on that board. Makes me appreciate tPF so much more! :love:

"Buy your seller"? Is that a typo? Not being *****y, I honestly don't get what you mean here. I would rather have the watch but if the seller is for sale, too, I do need some work done around the house. :biggrin:

Heehee... I had to think twice about this one too, when I first heard it.

It basically means, to only buy from reputable sellers that you've done your research on. It's risky to buy a "good deal' from an iffy seller - instead, stick with the sellers who have a good reputation for customer service and selling only authorized products. You might pay a bit more (even that's a maybe) for a similar item, but you have some peace of mind knowing it's authentic, they'll service for you, there's recourse with the if it arrives not as expected, etc, etc...

Doing a search here or on other forums may help you when researching sellers. Good luck!

ETA: Gah, I hope I interpreted that saying correctly!