Alexander Wang Rocco Report - After six months...

ShimmyChick

Oct 3, 2010
When I got my Rocco, I really hesitated to take the tags off because I'd heard so many reports of poor construction/quality. After some reassurance from fellow TPF'ers, I finally took the plunge and began my love affair with this bag. :smile: I'd say that I've been carrying it about 70% of the time since springtime of 2011. I thought I'd share before and after photos of how it's worn, for those who are curious and/or concerned themselves. Before I carried it, I did two applications of Apple Leather Care conditioner, and then two applications of Apple Leather Garde protectant spray. I found that the conditioner darkened it up a bit. The leather has developed an interesting patina as it wears--some spots are darkening up more, and some spots are lightening up more. I find the effect to be very lovely with the Luggage color, though I don't know how much I'd appreciate it on certain other colors.

Brand new:
2011-04-08075352.jpg

After six months:
IMG_20111128_180249.jpg

I'd say that overall, it's held up very well! One thing about this bag is that it is highly susceptible to denim transfer. Fortunately, I only wear jeans a few times a month. But when I do, I do notice that the bag picks up some more color. I try to keep the "damage" to a minimum by always carrying the bag with the same side of the bag against my body. (So there's an "inside" against me, and an "outside" that faces out.) The "inside" (which is the side that is shown in the two photos above) doesn't look as nice--the pebbling is more worn and rubbed down, and there are the coloration issues.

Here is what the "outside" looks like after six months:
IMG_20111128_180228.jpg

The biggest areas of wear are the handles, the strap, and the piping. The handles and the piping haven't cracked, but they're definitely looking a bit distressed.