Regular polish and gel nails

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Morning Girls.

I am new to all this gel nails and was wondering if you could apply a coat of regular nail polish instead of the gel colour and then top with a gel coat and get the same effect? Does the regular nail polish react? Only yesterday i asked for a french mani and she offered me the gel alternative as it would last 2-3 weeks. She didnt use a fancy white gel to do the tips, but what looked like a normal bottle of white polish? Then applied a gel layer and some sealing polish.

I was curious as this way i could use the colours i already have but they would last weeks. (providing i dont get bored by then)

Thanks for you help!

2. I used to have acrylics nails and got a gel top coats which the lady said would be a better topcoat because it would stay shiny rather than dull like regular top coats. I think that this would be the same....

3. #3 Oct 22, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2010