Question About Classic Box Bag Leather

Jun 4, 2006
Hi Celine experts, my SA sent me this picture of a box bag and she called that "textured leather", which she said it's not liege calf but she said it's still pretty scratch resistant. But based on her picture I think that's just the regular box leather, which to my understanding is quite easy to get scratched. So I'm wondering for non-exotic leather box bag, what types of leather are available? I always thought it's either 1) the regular box leather (which is easy to get scratched), 2) the spazzolato calf (glossy), and 3) liege calf (textured and kinda like a finer version of, say, LV Epi). This blue is so pretty but I doubt the leather is scratch resistant. Thoughts?

ImageUploadedByPurseForum1415768178.322827.jpg

I am not an expert on the type of the leathers available, but want to chime in about box leather, I have been using my box bag a lot, and I don't baby my bags at all and have to admit that I am too hard on my bags and besides the initial scratches that the bag had when I bought it, it hasn't scratched up any more. It's not a really hard leather/bag to use for everyday.

Thx. I have always liked the box bag, but has always been so concerned about maintenance. I was able to find a box bag in liege calf from Fall (haven't had time to do a reveal here..), really love the liege calf b/c it's quite scratch resistant. Am now considering another box in the future. Since liege calf is not released every season, I was also thinking about exotic but they are more $$$. So now my SA sent me photos of this "textured" leather and I'm not sure what it is. I have a young kid so I want something easy to be taken care of. But I'm also super picky about scratches and wears...