Purchasing my first Balenciaga. Need a bit of help.

xsimplypink

Dec 28, 2007
I'm new to Balenciaga and I'm planning on getting a Black RH City within the month or so. I'm a little confused by the ordering process, so hopefully you guys can help me out! I'm in CA, so should I order from NY or LA? Is there a difference or are they both tax/shipping free? Is Aloha Rag better? Another thing that's been confusing me is the leather. Are there different types of leather to choose from or something? I'm assuming the leather varies by the year of the bag, am I right? So how do I familiarize myself with the different types of leather and year? Are there a list of them? Whew~ Way too many questions! Thank you for taking the time to read this!!

Since there's now a Balenciaga store in California (LA), you won't be able to buy bags tax-free. So it doesn't matter which Balenciaga store you order from. However, you can still get free shipping if you choose regular ground shipping.

Aloha Rag for you should be tax- and shipping-free.

Check out the reference library for lots of pictures of different colors/leather types. Leather really varies from season to season and even bag to bag. If you're buying blindly (that is, buying without seeing a bag in real life first) then it'll be a bit harder to get the type of leather you want. 08 bag leathers I've heard were rather thin. 07 has had thick and thin leathers. 06 I've heard is another year that had rather inconsistent leather. 05 probably had the best leather: thick and smooth. Since you say you're going to be buying a black City from Balenciaga or Aloha Rag, you'll probably be getting an 08 leather. You can still try to ask the SA (sales assistant) to pick out a bag with a certain type of leather, but there's really no guarantee that you'll get it.