Purchasing an LV from Craigslist? [long]

DamierFashion

Feb 19, 2007
I am desperately trying to purchase a black multicolore keepall 45.

There are five on ebay that I posted in the authentication thread. However the cheapest one is over $1,700. That is a lot for me. I am in no hurry and I have read about people waiting 1-3 years to find their dream bag, so I can have patience.

HOWEVER someone on craigslist (a site for local trade, low regulations, zero protection) was selling a white 45 keepall. It is a few hours away from me, but his/her asking price is $1100. I am a student so a few hundred dollars really makes a difference. I noticed all of the pictures on Craislist are small, so I sent a message to the seller asking for high resolution pictures. They said they will email them to me by Monday.
If I post the pics in the authentication thread and you guys verify that the bag is authentic, would you recommend me buying from that person??

There are a lot of "good" fakes out there, so I dont know if I should take a chance for a couple hundred dollars. I know Paypal is shady, but at least with PayPal I would have the option of a charge back through my credit card company if I ended up with a counterfeit.

Am I still legally protected if I buy the bag and it turns out to be a fake? If I took down their name, adress, phone number, DL number, license plate number, and had them sign a notarized contract that it was authentic, then am I covered?? Or do you guys think I shouldnt do it?

I am just really nervous because I have never used craigslist (just found out about it last month) and I just dont want to meet a stranger. Craigslist is NOT an auction setting and there is NO feedback system :sad:
But......... $1100 seems like a good deal (if it is authenticated).

If I were to get the green light authentication-wise, are there any other questions I should ask the seller?
-Where was this bag purchased?
-How long have you had it?
-Do you have the original receipt