Perfume - I'm ready to find my scent!

*Jenn*

sofa king addicted.
O.G.
Nov 13, 2007
Hello lovely friends!
I am trying to be a better adult, and figured it is time to pick one or a few signature scents! The last time I had actual perfume (as opposed to body sprays) was high school.

I am 31. I work in healthcare; currently directly with patients, but working on my bachelors degree, and once I graduate and find a job, I will have limited / no direct patient contact.

So far my favorite scents have had the following aspects:
- light / medium boldness, but lasting
- sweet florals (peonies, lilies of the valley, etc.)
- fruity (blackberry, cherry)
- vanilla / honey

I am not afraid to go out of my comfort zone, but don't want to spend hundreds and waste bottles finding my perfect scent. If there are options for samples, that would be lovely!

I received Chanel No 5 for christmas 2 years ago, and it smelled extremely musty / old to me, so I returned it. But full disclosure - the gift giver (my MIL) is an extreme bargain shopper, so the perfume potentially could have been old / spoiled. Unsure.

Some perfumes I have been considering trying / have been recommended to me:
- LV heures d'absence
- YSL Black Opium
- Dior Miss Dior Blooming Bouqet
- Nest New York Black Tulip

* A pretty bottle is an added bonus - I love the black opium bottle, for instance
* I would like to have 3-5 scents at maximum.

I have been a big Jo Malone fan for years. I wear mostly Blackberry & Bay as well as Rose Oud. But i like spicier scents. For you I would start with the more basic Lime Basil which is a classic! She has a large number of scents and most are made to either be worn alone OR layered on top of each other, so there are lots of options. Head to department store and test them out. Good luck!

Reactions: jess236 and *Jenn*