Paypal verification code for real?

sac

Jan 4, 2008
Hi I have posted a longer message about this in the 'ebay safety tips' forum (p5) :Push:but think it may be the wrong place and I can't copy and paste so here's a truncated one.

I am new to paypal and ebay but have bought a few purses over the last few months so have gone over their newbie spend limit. Paypal have said they have issued a unique 'verification code' for my credit cards I have used on paypal but I have to wait for my bank statements to contain the code. My bank thinks it's a scam and no of no codes and nothing has appeared on my statements 2 months later and I haven't been able to buy anything on ebay I'm watching. :girlsigh:I am in France.

Does anyone know if this code stuff is legitimate and does anyone have any tips for dealing with it? I have called paypal and they said if I fax them my bank details they will issue it direct to me in 8 days. I am loathe to do this in case it's a scam.:shrugs:
Best

I know they sometimes do this when you are trying to add a credit card and you cannot use the card until you enter the code. They make a small charge (around $1), and then on your credit card statement in the description of that charge you have the code.

yes it is legitimate...it costs $1.95 US...they ask this if you will send payments over $100....but no worries coz they will deduct $1.95 on your next payment via paypal

you have to wait for 2-3 banking days before the verification code shows up in your bank statement...you can either check it by going online or calling ur bank for the info (thats what i did)

It is real I had two CCs I registered. This was a while back and I just had small withdrawls I had to confirm - one of my small withdrawls was $0.13 and the other was $0.08. I just had to enter the amounts, but not the code and I was up and running. Now, with all the money I have spent through Paypal I wonder...why did I enter those small amounts? - LOL