Paypal hold on established seller

quinna

Jun 27, 2013
I've been selling pretty regularly on ebay for over 12 years with a spotless record. I've been selling consistently in the same category for the last 3 or 4 years. Over the weekend I sold two items and the second of the two now has a hold on the funds. The only reason I can figure for this hold is the fact that the other item (a premier bag) was a much higher price than the bags/accessories I usually sell. The funds were released right away for the pricier bag, but not the cheaper one that sold after. What I'm wondering is how many transactions following this one will they continue to hold the funds?

Just as you suspect, I bet also that it's because the pricepoint is higher than your usual items.

And I'm also guessing here too but because you're established, they didn't hold your funds on the first sale but when there was a second shortly following, they did it just to be safe.

By "releasing the funds" for the first more expensive item, I'm assuming the "release" allowed the withdrawal. Probably the fact that you removed the funds from the first sale quickly caused them to question your motives.

Just as you suspect, I bet also that it's because the pricepoint is higher than your usual items.

And I'm also guessing here too but because you're established, they didn't hold your funds on the first sale but when there was a second shortly following, they did it just to be safe.

By "releasing the funds" for the first more expensive item, I'm assuming the "release" allowed the withdrawal. Probably the fact that you removed the funds from the first sale quickly caused them to question your motives.

I actually haven't withdrawn the funds from the expensive sale yet since I like to wait until a week or two after the item has been delivered with no issues.

I thought by "released," you meant you were able to withdraw.