Paying for ebay purchase "outside of ebay"

Since I am a fairly new ebay buyer, I'm still learning the ropes. I have a pretty good handle on what's authentic because I'm familiar with the brand and styles, what's gone to outlet recently, etc. And so far, I've been lucky to purchase from what seem to be good, honest sellers.

But here's my question--lately some sellers have offered to give me free shipping (when it's not free in their ad), if I will pay them directly through paypal. I realize that I am not covered by ebay's buyer protection if I choose to go this route, but it made me wonder just how risky it really is--Have any of you done this? Do you think it's a big risk if it's a seller I have previously used, or am I asking for trouble? I don't know if it's worth it just to save $12-13 in shipping, when I could view that as the "cost of insurance".:shrugs:

Any thoughts would be appreciated.:smile:

eBay has many warnings about paying the sellers directly. I would never ever conduct the transaction outside of eBay. I'd be very worried that the sellers were offering you this to possibly scam you since there is a relatively new eBay protection policy that is in place. I've never had a seller offer this to me.

If you pay outside of PP and Ebay, you risk the possibility of not even getting the item they claimed they sold you and if they get delivery conf. it might be hard to prove to your credit card company that you didn't get what you ordered/wanted.

Thank you for your responses!
I was NOT even aware of an ebay forum, and I will check there. Also, I don't feel comfortable paying this way, but thought maybe I was being a little timid since I am new at this. That's why I wanted to get some opinions from you ladies here who are more experienced with ebay.