Ok, I know it was fake but ...

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I know we on TPF totally condemn fake bags (and anything fake, I guess) and I totally am on board with that. All my stuff is authentic, I save for it and feel happy that I am carrying an authentic Chloe or Bal or whatever.

However, I am throwing this out there to get some opinions:

One day last week, I passed some HS kids walking to the school bus stop nearby and I noticed one of the girls was carrying what had to be a fake Chanel bag. I don't know the style (I am no Chanel expert, but I do love the brand, wearing Khaki Vert now as I type :biggrin:) but it was a big white tote with big black CC's on the edge.

This girl was dressed very fashionably--super skinny jeans, nice long hair, the "Chanel" tote, etc. and it seemed she put a lot into her "look". Our neighborhood is not one of expensive homes and cars; lots of immigrants trying to make ends meet, etc. so I sincerely doubt her bag was real and if I had been closer, I would have been able to give a definitive "yes" or "no" due to Chanel's incredible attention to detail and quality.

My question is this--though we condemn fakes, this girl obviously is into fashion and is doing her best to look great and cool and all. And the fact that she had this tote made me think she at least recognizes the Chanel brand and likes it. Or maybe she is watching Jersey Shore and likes Snooki's look :wtf: .

I certainly was not going to stop my car and run out and say "you are carrying a fake--bad bad!" I honestly felt she was "working things" the best way she could with what money she had available.