Off topic (re: purses) but want your opinion

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Hey, my 2500 post!

I wanted to get all of your opinion re: a purse decision since there are all kinds of purse lovers in the shoe forum and I would like some impartial input.

I have 3 Chanels, but with the price increases I am close to the point when I will only be getting them if they are the seasonal lines that go on sale. I am relatively new to true designer bags, but right now, since I buy bags to keep, not to resell, I am trying to make certain I am getting bags with some staying power. Some of my bags are "trendier" but I am making certain I am getting some bags I will be happy with and can use in 10 years.

I am thinking of getting a m/l flap. It is not big enough to be an everyday bag for me so I would not use it that much, mainly on weekends. I don't have a really classic day/night or night bag. It is definitely a purse I could and would pass on to my daughter when she is old enough.

I would get it if Saks has an EGC in April, which would actually "make up" for the November price increase. Of course, for $2250, I could get the LV speedy I want, another Balenciaga and a pair of Manolos, Choos or CL's. Given the pending Chanel price increase, I don't see myself getting the m/l flap in the future if I don't get it now.

Any thoughts?

2. Personally, I'd have a hard time spending that much on a bag I couldn't use every day. BUT, if it's something you think you'll use for years and years, you should do it now before it goes up in price again.