Of interest to those wondering about the accuracy of computer authentications

BeenBurned

Coach, Dooney, Uggs
Authenticator
O.G.
Feb 25, 2007
O M G!! Because this is LV related, I'm tagging @Addy , @Lee , @lshcat and @lovlouisvuitton

If there are other LV authenticators I've missed, please let them know.

Over the years, I've seen many fakes of various designers listed by linda*s***stuff and getting action on reports of fakes is like shoveling sand against the tide. Once in a while a listing will be pulled or ended but more often, they're sold to unsuspecting buyers.

But now Linda is having (at least some of) her bags authenticated by Entrupy. I'm not an expert in LV though I recognize obvious fakes.

If a computer is deeming this bag as authentic, buyers AND sellers are going to be in trouble and it cements my opinion of the undependability of computer authentications.

From the listing:
This bag has been verified authentic by Entrupy after comparing it to images in its proprietary database. Entrupy's authentication process is based on microscopic detection and advanced image based recognition. For more information visit entrupy.com

This is the listing:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Louis-Vuitt...ody-Handbag-/382141134249?hash=item58f962f5a9

Reactions: Nikki_ and Maijp
Yes, I'd looked at the site in the past and again when ebay mentioned their upcoming "ebay authenticate" service.

Personally, I would never trust a computer to do an authentication.

In this post, someone mentioned that Entrupy is alleged to have used Linda's to build a database.
https://forum.purseblog.com/threads...ood-news-or-scary.958708/page-4#post-31138372

And @caannie makes an interesting prediction:
https://forum.purseblog.com/threads/authenticate4u-com-experiences.837503/page-36#post-29216032

Reactions: caannie and jellyv
Oh my word. I'm having trouble lifting my jaw back up. (And I am reeeeally curious to know if this "program" even actually analyzed this monstrosity.) Ugh.