Non-traditional Child Care/ Part-time nanny

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. I've been asked to do a very non-traditional childcare job.

The mother (single) has a 4 and 8 year old. She has to leave her home by 3:30 am two days a week in order to commute to work. She needs someone to care for her kids and see that they get to school/pre-school safely and on time. (between 7:30 and 8)

I'm excited about the possibility of doing this. I'm a student (with another part-time job) so it works well into my schedule. Also, I would say I kind of have 'mommy fever' but know it is not good timing to have children of my own yet.

My concern is how much to charge. I know some of you probably live in large cities where child care costs are extreme, but in the small semi-rural area I now live in, I don't think I could charge a whole lot.

My first thought would be $10/hour. If I could get that much, I would be very happy. It would be an additional $100 a week on top of my other part-time job. I mentioned that to someone else, and while she is quite critical and pessimistic, she felt that would be asking for too much.

Can anyone chime in an offer advice? I don't want to bid this job too high that I don't get it...but I don't want to bid too low and not feel like it's worth the time I spend on it.

2. I used to charge $10/hour while I babysat a few years ago. Would you be going to her home at 3.30 am or will you be sleeping there?