Newbie here, please help me decide.... Èvelyne or Bolide?

yoshikitty

O.G.
Oct 23, 2013
Hello everyone. :smile:
I am very new to the Hermès world.
The things I have are two scarves with teddy bears pattern years ago and a wool blanket.

Hubby would like to get me a bag.
He actually ordered the Èvelyne 29 in Blue Nuit which arrived yesterday.
It looks very good, I like the colour a lot. I am a very casual person who normally wear jeans, I think I will have a lot of use with a cross body bag. Today, hubby said the Bolide 31 could be a better choice because it shows the classic beauty of Hermès. Then it comes the colour - étoupe or gold.
Seeing the photos, I think étoupe looks very nice. But without seeing the colour in person, it's difficult to tell.

Then I have some questions which may sound silly: :shocked:
1) what exactly is that oval shape thing on the upper part of the Bolide? Is there any special meaning?
2) I see a lot of people using twillys to wrap the bag handles. Is it just for decoration or is it to prevent the sweat colouring the handle? Is it really necessary to wrap the handles?

Keep the Evelyne and get the entoupe bolide as well! :graucho: The bleu nuit Evelyne (assuming in GHW) is gorgeous. I have the same one in TPM. Bolide is such a classic and so functional. Regarding the oval shape, I know Hermes do customization on it. Regarding the twilly, I believe that it functions as decoration and to protect the handles from sweat/make up... both gold and etoupe are such classic color. You really can’t go wrong either way. I see Evelyne as an Hermes classic/staple. Let us know what you decide! :yahoo:

There is a interesting history on the bolide bag