Newbie here! How did your Louis V obsession start?

1. When I was growing up in the south there were lots of flea markets. They always had booths with hundreds of FAKE handbags. It disgusted me. I recall so well my first leather Coach bag I purchased at a Department store. I loved that bag and was so proud of it ...until my co-worker waltzed in one day with her FAKE bag (the same style as mine). She was so proud and bragging about it. She thought it was real. It was a bad fake. I stopped carrying mine that day! Not sure why looking back. I should have been an ass and told her, but her husband bought it for her. Yes, reading this, I was childish!
    Anyway, I always refused buying a LV for all these years bc we were inundated with fakes! Why have a real in this cesspool of fakes?
    So, now years later and living in New England, today I purchased a pre-loved bag on line. I have never purchased a used handbag, but trusted that the site “authenticates” I did this to see how I feel about having one now so many years later. Where I live if you come across a LV, it is always a Neverfull. I chose the Ellipse MM. It is cute and I hope it isn’t gross! LOL!!!!!!!
    I can see how it gets addicting! I have so many Coach and Dooney (I prefer all leather), but something different will be fun! I really want a new Speedy 30 Bandouliere!
    How did it start for you? Were fakes purchased on your journey?

MooMooVT likes this.
  2. I was immediately attracted to canvas bags. My first premier designer bag was a Burberry check canvas bag and after that I updated to LV canvas

Cattyyellow likes this.
  3. I started buying Louis Vuitton 20 years ago. Luggage is what drew me to the brand. I kept seeing carryon bags on my flights between Paris and Nice. From my 18yo self, they felt so elegant and timeless. I wanted to be a part of that! So I saved money and bought my first LV bag: a Greenwich GM in Damier Ebène. I still use it today.

Bjstew, BULL, sparksflyy and 6 others like this.