Need for Travel Agents

1. Megs and I welcomed our baby boy earlier this month and wanted to share the news with the TPF community. Come say hello to Baby Vaughn!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Hi all,

As long as I can remember, I have always booked my travels on-line using travelocity or expedia. Now I've been looking for tickets for Christmas travel and I swear the prices have tripled! I'm wondering if I go through an agent if there is any benefit in price - do they have access to better deals, can they "predict" when I need to buy before prices rise/fall, and how are they compensated? If anyone has any clue or belong to this service industry and can shed some light on this topic, I'd be most grateful!

2. I'm an agent with a cruise agency so I won't be able to help with all of your questions, but I can answer some and hopefully other people will chime in.

Most cruise lines no longer allow agents to discount the base fare but my agency can provide lower rates through block spaces (cabins the agency has secured at a group rate), on-board credit, etc. I don't always get advance notification if the price for a sailing has decreased unless I personally monitor the prices, but sometimes the cruise lines do let us know that prices will be increasing on a certain date so we can communicate that to our clients and try to get them to book before the price goes up. Also, to answer your last question, as an independent contractor with my particular agency I get paid from commissions. i hope this helps!

3. I would LOVE to shed some light on how this works since I am in the industry.