Workplace Need advice on career change - all opinions welcome!

fabgrabs

Jun 12, 2007
All my life I wanted to be a professional violinist. It was my passion, my love, and so it is all I studied. I was so focused on music, that I never considered doing anything else. Cut to the present...

I am 27, and just now admitting to myself that music will probably not ever pay all the bills. Gigs are sporadic; I might make lots of $$$ one month, and not very much the next. I need more stability, and I need more money.

I'm planning to go back to school to get a degree in something more lucrative and stable....but the only thing is I have no idea what to study! I'm pretty sure I can get a few grants, which will help with the schooling while I keep my orchestra gigs at night.

I've taken those "career personality" tests before, and I know I am much more creative than analytical.

I know what I DON'T want to do...no teaching, no law, and no medicine unless I can get over my queesy stomach. :rolleyes::lol:

I know this is such a general question, along with a rant, but I thought perhaps you all might have some sound advice.:love:

What do you do for a living, and what about your job makes you love it?

Thanks! :heart:

i've been through this all many, many times. the first thing i would suggest, if you're serious about a career change, is to schedule an appointment with a career counselor. it'll be much more helpful than just taking a personality test, because the counselor will take in your goals, current status in life, etc. etc.

what about teaching violin? most musicians i know are private teachers and sometimes teach at a local school.