My path of Scarves---new vs old ---Tracking down holy grails and vintage or embracing the future

misspink001

Jan 21, 2017
I am at a dilemma. I'm new to collecting and find scarves of Christmas past and future are very desirable. My time and dollars are stretched trying to obtain all the rare retired scarfs and the new season scarves. Should I just focus on one, past or future?

Any thoughts?

Interesting question. My own thoughts: if you are new to collecting, you may not know yet what it is you really love most about a scarf. I think a lot of people go a little nutty gathering a bunch of things at first, before settling down and figuring out which ones they end up wearing and enjoying the most.

I personally don't recommend spending a lot of time and money hunting for the popular grails, like that blue Turandot, until you know for certain that that is truly what suits your coloring and lifestyle best. The only way to find that out is to have a few other scarves and experiment with them over time.

It can be useful and fun to pick a personal grail for yourself, to ration your spending, like a particular cw of a scarf from a few seasons ago that turns up every once in a while but isn't in huge demand, so doesn't have an astronomical price tag.

I recommend focusing at first on discovering what colors, patterns, and sizes work best for you, whether they be old or new, and not spending over retail until you have worn them for a while. Have fun!

Edited to add: I thought of a reason to maybe start with the new. You can actually try them on before you buy! Going to boutiques, seeing whether they flatter you, getting advice from good SAs--doing as much of that as you can early on will save you from some expensive mistakes.