My dumb mistake on ebay

brandwhore

aka samantha546
May 13, 2007
I was in a hurry and bid on an auction for a bag. I won it and was excited but then something didn't sound right to me so I asked for authentication here. Of course, it turns out that it's fake. So I emailed the seller and told her how disappointed I was as I received confirmation that her bag was fake. Her response is:

The bag was a gift given to me and as I am not an expert on how to Authenticate bags I do not know and therefore never posted anywhere on the listing page that it was authentic. The clear photos are there for you to decide for yourself. Everything on the listing page is an accurate description of the bag. The listing was for 10 days and during this time you had plenty of time to seek professional opinion.

Why has this person who told you that it is not authentic wait until the auction ended to tell you? This does not seem very sincere of them, and can you really trust their judgement?

So what do you want to do now? Are you going to pay for it?

So what DO I do? I don't want to pay but I think I am under obligation to, right ($400)? She is correct that nothing in her auction says that it's real. Ugh, I feel like such a dork.

Sorry this happened to you.
Pls inform her that it is illegal to sell fake bags. I'm pretty sure it does not matter whether or not the auction states that is "authentic". What is wrong, is wrong.

I'm sure some of the more experienced ladies will chime in and give you better advice, but I would not pay for it. I'd rather swallow a strike, then go through the headache of receiving, filing a SNAD case & returning.

I hope it works out for you!:smile:

There have been several threads recently about similar situations. The group tends to split into two opinions: