LV Lovers - when do you buy new and when do you buy preloved?

1. Aside from the obvious reason of the bag has been discontinued.

Thanks!

2. I buy preloved when it’s an item I don’t want to stress about, and don’t care that it has been used and broken in. My keepall is preloved and I’m glad it is that way, because it’s luggage and it’s going to get used and show wear.

MooMooVT and Ookvintage like this.
  3. I buy preloved because unfortunately I've seen so many replicas in my area that I don't want to spend top dollar anymore. Never seen replicas here in the non canvas, though.

4. I agree about buying preloved for bags you don’t want to baby. I would get a bag like the Noe or a Keepall preloved. I would be way too paranoid about the vachetta and wouldn’t enjoy the bag.

TXLVlove likes this.
  5. I buy more on occasion than I do based on the bag. I have a lot of discontinued LV from my mom's collection that she let me keep, but I do have a new LV that I got when I graduated. It's only a Speedy B, but this was such an important occasion to me and my parents that I got it new rather than pre-owned.

So it's more based on what I'm eyeing at the moment, the amount of funds available, and the occasion I can use as an excuse to splurge, rather than deciding to get it pre-owned because it's a certain type of bag :smile:

MooMooVT, TCB, Sonmi999 and 1 other person like this.
  6. For me, it's a combination of a number of factors, but generally speaking, if it's a bag that I plan to use a lot, I'll buy new. If I can get a great deal, if there is a particular reason I like an older/pre-loved version of the bag, if there are issues with availability, or if it's a bag I want buy don't see myself using often, I go pre-loved.