Luxury Watch Categories

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Save 25% off all Jeans at Nordstrom. Sale ends Sunday at noon EST. Click or tap to shop the sale!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. I'm a newbie when it comes to high-end watches. I've learned bits about many of the top brands from reading this forum. But I am still trying to get educated about how the brands relate to each other before I make a purchase. I found a helpful classification system here:

http://www.chronocentric.com/watches/brands.shtml

But it appears that web page is old and missing some brands I'd like to know about. For instance, in which categories would IWC, Chopard, and Tissot be classified?

Thank you for any advice and insight. The world of fine watches is rather complicated, and I'm trying to navigate it well enough to find the best combination of price, function, beauty, and reputation for my money.

2. IWC is a well known brand with very distinctive designs (portugieser chronographs, pilot watches, and the gerald genta designed ingénieur). They are for the most part bold designs in large case sizes and come with modest or decent movement finishing).

Chopard is a company that produces two distinct watch types: jewelry and technical. The jewelry watches have basic movement with minimal finishing but interesting designs such as the happy diamond line, while the technical line is called L.U.C, which produces outstandingly finished watches.