Looking for a job...

Mar 13, 2006
So, I am about to graduate and starting to look for a job. I have heard that some people have been looking for jobs for months! Does it really take that long?

How long have you been looking for a job until you found one? Did you have a lot of trouble finding one?

I think it depends what field you're looking to work in. When I was a Sr., most of my friends started looking after spring break in college, so right now sounds perfect to start sending everything out.

For me, in the arts, it did take a long time...but I also wasn't constantly looking and I was extremely picky.

Good luck!!

It does depend on the industry. My boyfriend is in the information technology industry and found a part-time job as a PC/Network technician for a mortgage company during his last semester of college. When he graduated in December, they offered him a full time spot on the MIS staff.

I'm in the communications field, I have a bachelor's in journalism with a poli sci minor. It took me almost 4 months to find a job, I now do PR/business development for a construction company. I went on tons of interviews, but it was hard to get my foot in the door because I didn't have the experience they were looking for.

My advice would be to flood the market with your resume, get out there and make contacts. If you happen to meet someone who is in the same or a similar career field, ask for their business card. Follow up with job applications, and if you go on an interview, always send a thank you note or e-mail thanking the person for taking the time to meet with you. Have faith in yourself and don't give up. It's a long, frustrating process, but you'll find something!

Good luck :biggrin: